tutor avatar

Tanya H - Tutor in Newlands

Hi there! My name is Tanya and I am 20 years old. I finished my B.A in Philosophy and French with Distinction at Wits last year. I now live in our beautiful city of Cape Town and I am an Honours student at UCT in Philosophy and French. I am passionate about and dedicated to education and making sure that everyone gets the help they need to achieve their potential. Most importantly, everyone needs to be given a chance to find what makes his or her life meaningful. I spent the last two years working in basic literacy and numeracy skills for grades 2 and 3 at government schools and I have been tutoring basic Spanish since March of this year. In my free time, I work with teenagers online and create fun and safe chat spaces for them to talk about their day-to-day lives. Each age brings with it new personalities and different levels and I love working with all ages as a result. I always make sure to make lessons fun and engaging because enthusiasm is key to learning. Overall, as my defining characteristic, I love helping people and I will make sure to do whatever I can to help them succeed!

Tutor basics
Teaching places

Students Home, Public Place, and Online

Travelling distance

Tanya will travel 15km from Newlands, Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa

Languages spoken

Tanya speaks French and English

Experience
Studies: 1. University of Cape Town (2020) | Bachelor of Arts Honours in French and Philosophy 2. University of the Witwatersrand (2017 – 2020) | Bachelor of Arts in French and Philosophy with Distinction (cum laude) 3. TEFL (Teaching English as a Foreign Language) - in process Work Experience: 1. Administrative Assistant at SADAG (South African Depression & Anxiety Group) December 2018 – November 2019 2. Teaching Volunteer at The Link Literacy and Numeracy Project January 2018 – December 20193. 3. Online Chat Moderator at The Mix (YouthNet) June 2017 – Present
Education
2017 - 2019
B.A. French and Philosophy (cum laude) - Wits University

Subject studied: English I and II French I, II and III Spanish I Philosophy I, II and II Maths Major I

2020-02-10 - 2020-11-30
B.A. Honours French and Philosophy - UCT

Subjects taught
  • Philosophy

    I am currently in my fourth year of studying philosophy. I love the subject for its critical thinking and its diverse range of topics. I have experience in courses such as: Logic Philosophy of Mind Ethics History of Philosophy Epistemology and Metaphysics

    Tanya teaches Philosophy at University/College level(s)

  • Numeracy

    I like to teach using various methods - games, blocks or items and exercises. In my experience, these different methods help reinforce and strengthen the concepts being taught. I make sure to incorporate these different methods according to how the learner learns best to make the class dynamic and fun.

    Tanya teaches Numeracy at Primary School level(s)

  • Spanish

    I was the top student for first year university Spanish at Wits University. I love teaching grammar and pronunciation through various methods (games, tables, etc.) and I am comfortable with day to day vocabulary that students need to know.

    Tanya teaches Spanish at High School and Primary School level(s)

  • French

    I was the best student for French at Wits in my first and second years of study. I love teaching grammar and I have covered an extensive range of topics - academic and general- throughout my studies. I can teach both French language and literature.

    Tanya teaches French at High School, University/College, and Adult level(s)

  • Writing

    With young children, I am trained in teaching spelling and basic sentence structures (and have taught for two years). At high school level, I obtained 91% for my IEB English portfolio which contained various types of writing pieces. As an university student, I am well practised in writing academic essays on a variety of topics and have on average received As for all English assignments.

    Tanya teaches Writing at High School, Primary School, and University/College level(s)