tutor avatar

Iolanthe P - Tutor in Paulshof

I was born and grew up on a wheat farm in the Western Cape. I was at boarding school in Cape Town and did my B.A. at Stellenbosch University majoring in English and French. I then spent 4 years in the Netherlands working in Amsterdam and The Hague. On my return to South Africa, did an extra major at Wits, got married, had 2 children. After my divorce, I studied again obtaining my teaching diploma and honours degree in educational psychology. I have worked locally as a teacher and, since I qualified in 1997, as a remedial therapist in part time private practice. In South Africa I have worked with students from other countries in Africa and the Middle East. I have also taught English as a foreign language (TEFL) for 7 years in Taipei, Taiwan to scholars, students and business people. Since my return to South Africa in 2009 I have worked at schools and privately in educational support which not only includes homework and school work but general and specific study skills and improving students’ learning confidence and organizational abilities. Generally one may say that I ‘mentor’ – especially students from Grade 3 to Grade 7 with the aim of getting them ready and confident enough to deal with High School and life thereafter!I

Tutor basics
Teaching places

My Home, Students Home, and Public Place

Languages spoken

Iolanthe speaks English

Experience
None mentioned.
Education
1997 - 1997
Bachelor's (other) Psychology - University of the Witwatersrand

1993 - 1993
Bachelor's (other) English Language and Literature - University of the Witwatersrand

1993 - 1993
Bachelor's (other) Philosophy, Psychology and Linguistics - University of the Witwatersrand

1981 - 1981
BA Psychology - University of the Witwatersrand

1973 - 1973
BA French - University of Stellenbosch

1973 - 1973
BA English Language and Literature - University of Stellenbosch