tutor avatar

Elmien O - Tutor in Langenhoven Park

Hi There! My name is Elmien Opperman, 24 year old female who is a Bloemfontein newbie since the start of 2020. I have a 08:00-16:30 job as an Audiologist. Completed my studies at the University of Pretoria in 2017, went on to do my Masters degree in 2018 and completed my community service year at a rural hospital in the Transkei in 2019. Studies aside - I really have a passion for people and find great joy in helping anyone reach their own full potential. I have been an au pair/tutor for a family in my last year of university and can provide a reference on request.

Tutor basics
Teaching places

My Home, Students Home, and Online

Travelling distance

Elmien will travel 15km from Langenhoven Park, Bloemfontein, Free State, South Africa

Languages spoken

Elmien speaks Afrikaans and English

Experience
2018-03-01 - 2018-11-30
Au Pair (while studying)

Au Pair duties including pick up from school, preparing lunch, ensure that flow of classwork (Grade 6) is completed on a daily basis, overseeing and assisting with homework and assignments, tutoring, supervising free time. 12 Year old, high functioning, autistic child

2019-01-03 - 2019-12-30
Community Service Audiologist

Starting up an Audiology department at Madwaleni District Hospital including procurement and motivation for equipment, writing up various protocols and advocating for audiology services. Clinical duties performed included otoscopy, kuduWave testing of both in and out patients, school screenings, hearing education, ear mould impressions and appropriate referrals. Madwaleni Hospital,

2020-01-03 -
Audiologist

I am currently employed as a full time audiologist for Kind2Hearing Bloemfontein where I work from 08:00-16:30. I see a variety of patients daily and perform a rage of services including diagnostic hearing testing and hearing aid fitting. I thoroughly enjoy my job and love the chats with my patients.

Education
2014-02-01 - 2018-11-30
B Audiology and Masters in Audiology - University of Pretoria

I Studied Audiology at the University of Pretoria while staying in Madelief residence. I completed the 4 year course in 2017 and thereafter went in to do my Master degree in Audiology in 2018 in the field of Cochlear implants and Tinnitus.

Subjects taught
  • Math

    I have completed maths, trigonometry and advanced maths until matric. I truly enjoy maths and see it as the one ‘problem’ that will always have an answer if you just know how to find it. I have experience in tutoring maths and at this stage will only assist up to grade 9.

    Elmien teaches Math at High School and Primary School level(s)

  • Special Needs Help

    As an audiologist I have worked with many children with special needs during my university years. I have also been an au pair to a young boy who was diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder for a year. I have great compassion for children!

    Elmien teaches Special Needs Help at Primary School level(s)

  • Primary School

    I have experience in tutoring all primary school subjects. I have written speeches in both English and Afrikaans, assisted with all assignments and made summaries as test and exam prep. I am able to assist with all of these even if formal tutoring in the subject is not needed.

    Elmien teaches Primary School at Primary School level(s)

  • Afrikaans

    I have a passion for the Afrikaans language and during my school career participated in many reading, writing, debate and public speaking competitions. I will be able to assist with language, reading and writing as well as the writing of any speeches for school purposes.

    Elmien teaches Afrikaans at High School and Primary School level(s)

  • English

    I have experience in tutoring/au pairing an English home langue learner who showed significant progress (reference available on request). I have a passion for languages and writing and I would therefor be of great assistance with English language, reading and writing.

    Elmien teaches English at High School and Primary School level(s)