tutor avatar

Ami Louise D - Tutor in Cape Town

I am currently a second year student at the University of Cape Town studying English, Economics, and French. I am a member of the Golden Key Honour Society (top 15% in my faculty) and I was on the Deans Merit List. I grew up in Cape Town, and moved to the United States when I was 14. I completed grades 9 and 10 in the United States, I received my International Baccalaureate Diploma from an overseas boarding school (grade 11&12). I currently work for UCT as a tutor in the economics department and I have experience tutoring matric core maths, maths lit, biology, and english. I am also able to tutor economics and french. I believe that with the proper attention and guidance, every student has the potential do well. I am committed to helping my students to not only learn and understand, but also have fun while doing so!

Tutor basics
Teaching places

My Home, Students Home, Public Place, and Online

Travelling distance

Ami Louise will travel 7km within Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa

Languages spoken

Ami Louise speaks Spanish, French, and English

Experience
I completed AP chemistry and AP Language and Composition in the United States I completed my International Baccalaureate Diploma at an overseas boarding school. My subjects were English Literature, Mathematics, Biology, Spanish, Art, and Economics. I am currently studying English, Economics, and French at the University of Cape Town. I have experience tutoring both formally and informally. I have tutored both Matric and IB subjects. I also work as a tutor for UCT in the Economics Department.
Education
2019-02-11 - 2021-11-20
2nd year Bachelor of Social Sciences in Economics, English and French. - UCT

I am currently studying remotely due to COVID-19, so I have a very flexible schedule

Subjects taught
  • Mathematics

    I did not find mathematics naturally easy in school, so I developed simply strategies to teach myself to understand maths. In University, I did very well in mathematics (80 percent). I truly believe that everyone CAN do maths -- coming from someone who is not naturally talented but has achieved high grades. I want to help students who are struggling to build their confidence and achieve by developing personalized teaching plans for each student tailored to their process of learning.

    Ami Louise teaches Mathematics at High School and Primary School level(s)

  • Spanish

    I studied Spanish until grade 12, and obtained a 7(the highest score) for Spanish in the IB diploma. I lived in Mexico during my gap year and worked as a written translator in Mexico City. I have extensive experience both writing and speaking Spanish and am passionate about learning foreign languages.

    Ami Louise teaches Spanish at High School and Primary School level(s)

  • Economics

    I studied IB Economics in high school and obtained a 7(the highest score). I am currently majoring in Economics at UCT. I have achieved consistent first class passes (over 80%) in Economics. I currently work for UCT as a tutor in the Economics department. I have experience tutoring economics to both high school students and university students.

    Ami Louise teaches Economics at High School and University/College level(s)

  • English Language and Literature

    I am passionate about English Literature and Language. I obtained a 5 (the highest score) in AP Language and Literature in the United States and I obtained a 7(the highest score) for English Literature HL in my International Baccalaureate Diploma. I am currently majoring in English at the University of Cape Town where I have achieved consistent first class passes. I have experience tutoring both IB English and South African matric.

    Ami Louise teaches English Language and Literature at High School, Primary School, and University/College level(s)