tutor avatar

Zakiyah R - Tutor in Kilner Park

I am a 27-year-old accountant, living in Pretoria. At school I took Maths, Life Science, Physics and Accounting. After matriculating in 2010 I went to UCT to study a Bachelor of Business Science in Finance and Accounting. At University i tutored accounting and finance to younger students. I have since been working in different environments performing accounting functions. I am patient, friendly and open-minded. I take a concept-based approach to studying and enforce with repetition and practice. Pick me to be your tutor!

Tutor basics
Teaching places

Students Home and Online

Travelling distance

Zakiyah will travel 60km from Kilner Park, Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa

Languages spoken

Zakiyah speaks Afrikaans and English

Experience / Education
I studied Accounting and Finance at UCT from 2011 to 2015. Those were my majors but I also took Marketing, People Management, Ethics and Business Law. After graduation I got a job in corporate investments, then I moved to hospitality for 6 months and then I became the bookkeeper for an SME in food manufacturing. I worked there for 2.5 years before they closed due to COVID-19.
Subjects taught
  • TEFL

    I recently completed my TEFL in order to teach students online. English is a universal language of communication and everyone should have at least a basic grasp of the English language just to engage better with the world we live in. I want to assist people in this regard and help them to learn to speak English properly and fluently.

    Zakiyah teaches TEFL at Adult level(s)

  • Biology

    I thoroughly enjoyed learning about biology (life science) at high school. As a student mentor I also helped learners in my class who were struggling, especially when the course content got theory-heavy. When our class teacher changed I also assisted in transitioning the class and making sure everyone was on the same page.

    Zakiyah teaches Biology at High School level(s)

  • Physics

    I did well in Physics at high school as my school was a maths and science focussed school. I struggled a bit in grade 11 and so I got some help from a tutor myself. Having someone take the time to explain concepts to me in a different way really helped to deepen my understanding of those concepts and increased my ability to apply them.

    Zakiyah teaches Physics at High School level(s)

  • Accounting

    I took accounting in High School and did very well. Subsequently at university I majored in Accounting and tutored it to first year students when I was in my third year. After university I became an accountant and have been working as one for 4+ years.

    Zakiyah teaches Accounting at University/College level(s)

  • Afrikaans

    I am fluent in Afrikaans, written and verbal. My first corporate job was a customer facing role and I serviced both English and Afrikaans native speakers in the financial industry. This role taught me a lot of finance-specific Afrikaans jargon and phrases.

    Zakiyah teaches Afrikaans at High School level(s)