tutor avatar

Tobias S - Tutor in Hatfield

As a PhD student I investigate the ecology and genetics of mole-rats and learn new statistical techniques to apply better analyses. I have a MSc degree in Ecology and Conservation biology and did a BSc in general biology including plant science, evolutionary biology, microbiology, immunology and neurology. In my free time I write fiction and compose songs with my E-guitar.

Tutor basics
Teaching places

My Home, Students Home, Public Place, and Online

Travelling distance

Tobias will travel 4km from Hatfield, Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa

Languages spoken

Tobias speaks German and English

Experience
2018-05-21 - 2018-08-31
Team Leader - Invasive plants task force

I instructed a team of 3 - 15 people fighting invasive plants and explained them the biology of the plants. Each day I organised all the material for the operation and supervised their tasks throughout the day. Sometimes we had to maintain important nature reserves in Switzerland.

Education
2012-09-17 - 2015-07-31
BSc Biology - University of Basel

2015-08-01 - 2017-03-31
MSc Ecology - University of Basel

To follow adders over four months I force-fed them transmitters that I could track with a VHF-antenna in a Swiss montane region To investigate if translocations are feasible I tracked the adders after I moved them 1 km along the river Took GPS points of translocated and resident snakes Calculated home ranges in R Resident snakes covered a smaller daily distance than translocated snakes and roamed a similar sized home range.

Subjects taught
  • Statistics

    As an ecologist that collects all data during field work I have to deal with complex data sets that need complex statistical tests. I got 100% for the lecture in general statistics in R during my MSc. I like to play with data to improve my understanding of the mechanisms.

    Tobias teaches Statistics at High School, University/College, and Adult level(s)

  • German

    My mother tongue is German and I had German as a school subject since I was in Primary School. The majority of lectures during my first year of my BSc degree were in German and I write fiction since I was fifteen years old.

    Tobias teaches German at Primary School level(s)

  • Biology

    Knowledge of many concepts in biology because I was reading many articles during my MSc, a internship abroad, and during my PhD. An overall of 84% during my BSc that included versatile practicals during the last year.

    Tobias teaches Biology at High School, Primary School, University/College, and Adult level(s)